St. Francis

of Assisi

Catholic Church

Lord make me an instrument of peace..   Where there is hatred, let me sow love   Where there is injury, pardon   Where there is discord, unity   Where there is doubt, faith   Where there is dispair, hope

en es

Mass Times

Weekend Mass Schedule


English 5:00 pm

Spanish 7:00 pm


English 8:00 am, 10:00 am

Spanish 12:15 pm

Daily Mass Schedule

Monday 8:00 am (Communion Service)

Tuesday 8:00 am

Wednesday 6:30 pm

Thursday 8:00 am

Friday 8:00 am


Holy Days

See Bulletin

Church Forms

To access a Parish Registration form or to register for Religious Education classes please create an account or login. The forms are located under the User Menu on the left hand side.

Member Login

Eight residents of Lancaster met on August 27, 1965, at the home of Leo and Pat Morrison, thus the Catholic Church committee was born. Mr. Morrison served as its first president and Josie Egan as Secretary. Other officers were Mrs. Pat O’Dell for membership, Joe Kapavik and Dan Egan, on the ways and means committee. Others present at that meeting were Wilma Kapavik, Jewell Cromaz and Pat Morrison. This committee met every 2 weeks with attendance growing at each meeting.

The meetings were soon moved to the clubroom of the First National Bank on the Square and Gilbert Mahoney was appointed treasurer. Each family donated $1.00 and a bank account was opened. Within six months  a youth organization was formed with Janet Mahoney as the leader.

August 1968, the third anniversary of the first meeting Fr. Joseph Weinzapfel, the pastor of Holy Cross Parish, Dallas, celebrated Mass in Lancaster at St. Martin’s Episcopal Church. Joe Tillotson was the first lector and future parishioners filled the pews and stood outside listening to the Word through open windows. We had grown to  “Mission” status. The name chosen for the new mission was to be St. Francis of Assisi, in memory of Msgr. Francis Becker, a man whose life-style was in the likeness of the “poor” man of Assisi, and a man that had been an influence in the lives of those trying to establish this church. Velda Hartley was instrumental in the choosing of this name.

St. Francis mission met at the old Jr. High school on Centre St. with 206 people  attending the first Mass.. Religious education began and 83 students enrolled. The Jr. High school building was destroyed by fire, and the community then moved to West Main Elementary School. The Altar Society was formed with Kris Martinets as the first president. The Altar Society membership carried the Altar and preparations weekly to the School and prepared for the visiting Priest to celebrate Mass. Fr. Tim Gollob was assigned to Holy Cross and is remembered for his love and zeal for the beginning of St. Francis of Assisi parish. The beautiful bronze statue of St. Francis that graces the façade of the church was his gift to the parish.

The Catholic Foundation of the Diocese of Dallas purchased 120 acres from the Novotny family and donated 12 acres of land to construct a new church. The ground-breaking for the long awaited church was January 30, 1972. Bishop Thomas Tshoepe turned over the first spade of soil where the church would stand. Albert Salem was the architect. Construction was by Halford’s Inc. and interiors by Noel’s of Ft. Worth.

The building was completed in December, 1972, but it was not until May 23, 1973, that the parish was canonically erected with Fr. Albert Cuschieri as its first pastor. The Church was dedicated November 24, 1974, and the rectory purchased in December. By September 1975, St. Francis parish had 250 families with an average Mass attendance of 500 and enrollment in the CCD programs of 240 students.

With the growing enrollment of students in the CCD program a Religious Education center was needed. This building was near completion when lightning struck it on August 3, 1979 causing nearly $170,000 in damages. Though quite a setback for the small parish, after clearing the debris, construction was continued and the building completed. With Fr. Gale White and faithful parishioners St. Francis of Assisi Parochial School became the first new Catholic school in the Diocese of Dallas during the 11 year tenure of Bishop Thomas Schoepe. Mrs. Dorothy Lancaster was the first principal of the school that opened in August of 1980. Due to financial struggles the school was closed in May of 1989, but the parish has thrived with the growing need for Faith formation through CCD and currently this facility houses many organizations and activities on a weekly basis.

With the growth of the parish, secretarial assistance had to be provided. The secretaries of the parish have been Barbara Myers, Mary Ann Kelly, Doris Peart, Sara Raines, Gloria Perez and presently Gabriela Vela.

Isidra Reyna served as the St. Francis’ first Sacristan and housekeeper for the Rectory and also took care of the Janitorial and Maintenance of the facilities. In June of 2010 Mrs. Reyna retired and Robin Truett took over as Sacristan until April of 2011. Loyda Ramirez was hired at this time and retired in February of 2014 at which time Robin was hired for the position once more.

In 1976, Fr. Richard Weaver was appointed the second pastor. Fr. Gale white was pastor in 1977. Fr. Michael Barone was named to succeed Fr. White in 1983. After a year he was succeeded by Msgr. James Tucek. 1986 brought Fr. Stephen J. Mocio to St. Francis, and he served the parish until August of 1997.

Other priests that have been associated with the parish through the years have been Fr.’s Francis Miesch, Frank Lavin, Jude Krogel, Gus Melito, Michael Hartwig, and Bob Shortall.

Deacons who have served the parish are Dan Wallis, Jose Saldaña, Harry Pechacek, Jose Hernandez, Loni Lugo, Ed Armstead, Hector Peña, Denis Corbin and our present Deacons,  Victor Carpio, and Lawrence P. Seidemann, III.

Fr. Arthur D. Mallinson was welcomed as our 7th pastor in August of 1997. We celebrated our 25th Anniversary in November of 1999, dated from the day of our dedication as a church. Bishop Charles Grahmann celebrated the Mass at 5 pm. There was an unveiling of the beautiful statue of St. Francis carved by Ludwig Kieninger of the Woodcarver’s Studio in DeSoto. A delicious BBQ dinner was served to around 700 people, catered by Jim Moorman. A dance followed with Ted Brooks, providing the music. Hope and Kenneth Littles compiled news clippings and photos into scrapbooks which was available for everyone to view.  

With the beginning of the fiscal year in 2006 Fr. Art worked with various members of the parish and Steve Malone in the Diocese of Dallas in establishing the Building Committee for the extension of the Church. For this project Steve Norman was hired as architect and construction was completed through T. R. Hall, Inc.The actual groundbreaking began in February of 2008 and was completed in September of 2008.

The year of 2008 brought pastoral changes to the parish as we opened our hearts for the arrival of Fr. Albert B. Becher. During his tenure as Pastoral Administrator we recognized his 25th ordination anniversary in May of 2009 and celebrated his status of becoming a US citizen in April of 2013. He was assigned to Holy Family of Irving in May 2013.

May of 2013 we welcomed Fr. Manuel Sabando as the 9th priest of the parish of St. Francis of Assisi in Lancaster. We thank God for the goodness he has bestowed on us in blessing us with Fr. Manny to continue the vision of the parish as that first committee foresaw nearly 50 years ago.

Weekly Bullentin

Helpful Links

1537 Rogers Avenue
Lancaster, Texas 75134
Email address -
Phone: 972-227-4124